Home » DACCA GAZETTEERS » Husain Shah

Husain Shah

Naib-Nazim of Dhaka

The position of Naib-Nazim (Deputy Governor) was created to administer Dhaka Niabat since 1717. They were appointed by the Governors until Sirajuddaula, the last independent Governor of Bengal, lost control to the British in the Battle of Plassey in 1757. Here is a partial list of Naib-Nazims of Dhaka:

Khan Muhammad Ali Khan (1717),

Itisam Khan (1723 – 1726),

A son of Itisam Khan (1726 – 1727),

Mirza Lutfullah Tabrizi (a grandson-in-law of Murshid Quli Khan) (1728 – 1734),

Sarfaraz Khan 1734-1739,

Galib Ali Khan (1734-1738),

Murad Ali Khan (1738-1739),

Abdul Fattah Khan (1739-1740),

Nowazish Mohammad Khan (1740-1754),

Hossain Quli Khan (1740-1754),

Murad Dowlat (1754-1755),

Jasarat Khan (1755-1762 and again 1765-1778),

Mohammed Ali (1762-1762),

Mohammed Reza Khan (1763-1765),

Ghaziuddin Haider (1834 – 1843).

The office of Naib Nazim of Dhaka was officially abolished in 1843.

The records of his immediate successors are equally meagre but in 1494, Shah Ala-ud-din Hasain Sharif Maki, known as Husain Shah the Good, came to the throne. He made his capital at Ekdala and captured Kamatapur in 1498 leaving his son Danyal as governor there. The young prince and his followers were however killed and a subsequent expedition sent into Assam was completely routed by the Ahoms. Husain Shah also sent two expeditions into Tippera. The first under Gaur Malik was driven back, the Tipperas damming the river Gumti and then letting loose the waters upon the invaders. The second, under Hyten Khan, was at first successful but was subsequently routed by the same expedient as had proved so successful against the former expedition. Some time after this (the date is uncertain and it may have been after Husain Shah’s death) Bijaya, the Raja of Tippera, in retaliation, invaded Bengal with an army of 26,000 infantry and 5,000 cavalry, besides artillery. He travelled with 5,000 boats along the rivers Brahmaputra and Lakshya to the Padma, spent some days at Sonargaon in debauchery and then crossed to Sylhet.

After Husain Shah there were three other independent kings,viz., (i) Nasrat Shah, his son, (ii) Firoz Shah, his grandson, and (iii) Mahmud Shah, his son. The last named was defeated by Sher Shah and with him ended the line of independent kings.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s